Thoughts I take from watching “The Lorax”


I am a huge Suess fan.  Give me all the great social agendas you want in brightly colored nonsensical  babble.  I have a list of favorites, but by far The Lorax has always had my heart.  For someone to put the environmental movement in the forefront of young minds is genius.  Seriously how do you reach adults?    Often through their kids.  You can get people to quit smoking, make better health choices and watch how they do things by utilizing their kids.

I love the message, which is so brief and simple.  “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing’s going to get better. It’s not.”  It is sadly true.  But what gives me hope is that there are people out there that do care.  Many care about many things and ultimately we have the power to evoke change and I believe the whole theme of many of Suess’s books is just that.  Change can happen, it is a matter of us caring enough to make an effort and to stand up for those things we believe in.  Standing up against those things we find wrong in our world, because it is our world!

I took my son to see the movie.  He doesn’t remember The Lorax from childhood, I never had that book for my kids.  I feel bad that he missed out on that one.  My son is one of those poor kids that gets drug around to all my enviro movies.  I took him for his bday to see “Food Inc.”, once I drug him to see “Fuel”.  He never really complains, I think he secretly likes documentaries and movies with a message.  But them he goes back to liking those weird video game based movies.  As a consolation I will plead that he is well balanced, now if I could just get him to eat more balanced!

Image

5 thoughts on “Thoughts I take from watching “The Lorax”

  1. I heard the movie was different from the book, especially that the environmental message was toned down. Is this true?

    • The whole premise is trying to find a tree. The setting is a plastic society and one boy trying to impress a girl by fulfilling her dream of having a real tree. I think the message is subtle, and if you are a cynical adult you will miss the beauty of the story in general. I liked the movie WallE. It is similar to that. Where the setting is some unbelievable possibility if we do not check ourselves now. And the antagonist in both is out for themselves. In Lorax the antagonist is basically consumerism, come on the guy is selling air for Pete’s sake. You have to go into it knowing it was catered to children and if you want to see the negative you will. I am an optimist so I think anyway to get a message to the next generation will be for the greater good.

      • Well the boys and I loved Wall-E so if you compare it to that, I’m sure we’ll like it too. Thanks!

      • My friend sent this article to me and maybe it will help with the consumerism perspective.
        Thanks for sharing your thoughts on FB about the Lorax. I went back to re-read the whole article. It is about advertising. Here it is if you are interested. jeni

        Save the Lorax!

        For more than forty years, Dr. Seuss’s The Lorax has been a clarion call for conservation. Generations of children have been moved by its powerful tale of how rampant greed and consumerism destroyed the forest of Truffula Trees and the Brown Bar-ba-loots, Swomee-Swans, and Humming-Fish that depended on them. But now the book’s powerful message is in danger of being crushed by a real-life landslide of corporate greed.

        This Friday, Universal Pictures’ The Lorax arrives in theaters—with dozens of corporate tie-ins. While the story teaches children to conserve the earth’s finite resources, these heavily advertised partnerships compel them to consume, consume, consume.

        Read the book with your children. See the movie if you must. But tell the corporations that have kidnapped the Lorax you want nothing to do with:

        •The new Mazda CX-5 SUV—the only car with the “Truffula Seal of Approval.”
        •Seventh Generation household products and diapers festooned with the Lorax.

        •IHOP’s kids’ menu items like Rooty Tooty Bar-Ba-Looty Blueberry Cone Cakes and Truffula Chip Pancakes.

        •In-store promotions featuring the Lorax at Whole Foods, Pottery Barn Kids, and Target.

        •Online Lorax games and sweepstakes for YoKids Yogurt, Comcast Xfinity TV, Target, IHOP, and HP.

        •HP’s “Every Inkling Makes a Difference” in-school curriculum produced and distributed by Scholastic.

        “UNLESS someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.”

        —The Lorax

        It is both cynical and hypocritical to use a beloved children’s story with a prescient environmental message to sell kids on everything from SUVs to pancakes. The Lorax that we know and love has more integrity than his current incarnation as the darling of Madison Avenue. If that notoriously reclusive Lorax ever agreed to appear in a film, he would say a resounding “NO” to any commercial tie-ins. He would help children curb their consumption instead of promoting a slew of “greener” products. He would tell corporations to stop bombarding kids with materialistic messages. He would never immerse children in the false corporate narrative that we can consume our way to everything, from happiness to sustainability. Instead, he would join everyone who cares about children and the earth to give kids time and space to grow up free of commercial pressures.

  2. Yeah the product tie-ins was part of my concern, but I guess it’s separate from the content of the movie.

Leave a Reply

