Confessions of a Cyclist


Last week I missed work one day due to a two day headache.  On Tuesday my partner was heading out of town for four days.  I asked to borrow his car so I could make an appointment to get my neck adjusted.  I was figuring that I would leave and return to work.  The idea was that it would be faster to drive from Tukwila to Capital Hill than to bike there and back.  It seemed like a great idea.  I have thought this before about a vehicle or even the bus if it is a straight through with no transfers.

The problem with this thought is that traffic occurs.  I went to the chiropractor on Tuesday and the Acupuncturist on Wednesday.  Both days it took me nearly an hour to get there in the car.  I know that my bike takes exactly 1 hour and 25 minutes to get there.  I rode all last spring and summer for appointments there.  The frustration of trying to trevass traffic probably did not help my headache.
image

The reality always hits me after I make that dumb decision to borrow a car.  Thinking it would be faster than my bike.  The reality is that going through the City of Seattle, and most likely every other major City, is faster by bike, save for late at night and very early in the morning.  My bike is always reliable, cost very little to own and is truly a faster less stressful mode of transportation.

Public transit is efficient, only if it is routed outside of major traffic congestion.  The bus tunnel and buses running down 3rd Ave in downtown Seattle are two examples of transit being faster.  The problem is that getting to those areas and leaving those areas, the buses are subjected to traffic congestion.  So again I find that a bike is more efficient and much less stressful.

I realize the folly of my thoughts.  The road much less traveled is always the best.  I must keep reminding myself of this.  I love riding my bike, I just hate having to leave work early to get to my doctor’s appointment.  The thing my bike has done for me is given me a new group of friends with common ideas.  My bike also keeps me fit.  I lost over 60lbs before the collision.   It also gave me meaning in my life.  I focus on how to reduce my carbon footprint almost constantly.  From my transportation mode to my foodprint.  I am always looking at how I do things and how I can make them better.

Leave a Reply

