Bike Adventure Day 38


Today was spent in a deep haze in the back seat of the van. Midas referred to me as the living dead at one point. Most riders were like, has she woke up at all? Each rest stop was the same. I slept, and ate very little. I did drink some water and some electrolytes. I have not been this sick in quite some time. So thankful to not be biking today.

 

We arrived in Dinosaur and some of the team really wanted to take a trip up to the Dinosaur National Monument. This whole trip, once we hit Colorado is like a view finder into my past. I had been here when I was around 11. So even though I was sick, I really wanted to go back and see it again. We all piled into the van and off we went. It was similar to what I remember, although there were some things different from what I thought I remembered. Ultimately I am glad I got to go see it again.

 

Tom had taken a couple of weeks off to go up to Alaska with his brother to go fishing. He brought back a ton of Halibut, which we had with mashed potatoes for dinner. I ate for the first time in nearly 30 hours, I really did not feel like eating, but I knew I should. I then immediately crashed out. I decided that another day of riding in the van was a good idea. Actually Tom decided that and put his foot down. It is amazing how being sick can zap your energy. So glad the team understands. It seems we have become a roaming family. This trip is sort of like living in a moving commune. I wanted to experience communal living in my lifetime, now I think I can officially say I have.

dino natl monument marks bike with dino the gang checkin dinos

One thought on “Bike Adventure Day 38

  1. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been so sick. I hope you get better soon so you can get back to biking!

Leave a Reply

