Bike Adventure Day 53


Today we left Grangeville and headed to Lewiston Idaho. I have to say that the most amazing part of the day was followed by the most miserable. We had this most awesome switchback road that led into a beautiful picture perfect Americana Puzzle. It was 8 miles of beautiful downhill and awe inspiring beauty. I was elated and in that moment the whole world was about me. Nothing else mattered, no cars came up or down that hill and it was just beautiful.

Shortly after that downhill was this considerably difficult, I have to walk my bike 8 miles uphill. This actually agitated me to the point of anger. When the hill finally crested, I got back on the bike, and no it was more like 1.5 miles. I could have biked it, but those stupid hills always seem to be at the end of the day when I have no energy left.

On top of that hill, the last bit into Lewiston was a 45 degree slope that went on forever. I tried to tackle it but again got agitated and walked the bike. We finally found Lewiston and then I got confused by the multiple streets called 8th street. I was almost ready to give up when I saw the chalk marks. Thank goodness for those who do not get lost chalking the way!

We were fed Lasagna and garlic bread with fresh fruit and salad by the church and covenant partner. Tomorrow we have our final work day and I am oh so happy to not ride a bike for a day. I never thought this would happen, but it has. I never thought biking could become a chore, but when you do something like this in a group and you are on a schedule things can become tedious. I have to remind myself that I am doing something most people would never consider doing, and I may be slow but I am still getting it done.

20130802-174400.jpg

 

dog b and b dog bed and breakfast

Leave a Reply

