Live and Let Live


Since the first day we moved into our first place together, the neighbors downstairs have been Satan himself. I have almost always lived on the first floor. It made it easier with kids and an aging dog. It also helped to roll bikes inside. This is the first time I am on a second story/top floor. In the past I have lived under a family with very active children. I just learn to accept it and laugh it off when it gets really bad.

Since the first day we moved into our first place together, the neighbors downstairs have been Satan himself. I have almost always lived on the first floor. It made it easier with kids and an aging dog. It also helped to roll bikes inside. This is the first time I am on a second story/top floor. In the past I have lived under a family with very active children. I just learn to accept it and laugh it off when it gets really bad.

The new neighbors, which my partner has named neck tattoo boy, apparently think we are having weight lifting sessions and step aerobics up here. From the first weekend they complain about us making too much noise, stomping around. The first time he said it went on well past 11 pm. Which I find extremely confusing due to the fact that we were unpacking and we stopped for a dinner break around 5 and then went

The new neighbors, which my partner has named neck tattoo boy, apparently think we are having weight lifting sessions and step aerobics up here. From the first weekend they complain about us making too much noise, stomping around. The first time he said it went on well past 11 pm. Which I find extremely confusing due to the fact that we were unpacking and we stopped for a dinner break around 5 and then went to a local bar to watch a Sounders game. We game back after 11 and went straight to sleep. Unless we are doing aerobics in our sleep we cannot possibly be responsible for the noise.

After I left for Africa Richard brought his daughters over for the night. Apparently watching TV is a loud activity and involves stomping around. Again, they were sitting on the sofa, so not sure why we are being blamed. That week Richard talked to the landlord about it. Stating he just didn’t want any trouble, but they were complaining about normal living noises that are happening during non-restricted hours. Apparently tattoo neck boy is not supposed to be here. And the child that he kept telling me that I was disturbing is a figment of his imagination. I have yet to see the kid.

We have not heard anything from them since that weekend. Tonight, however, I was blessed with an accusation. Apparently we have been stomping around all day. I looked at her and informed her that we had not been home all day. She said well tell whoever is up there to knock it off. I looked at her again and stated, that is what I am telling you, no one had been home most of the day. The couple of hours I was home was spent sitting watching TV. The couple of hours that Richard had been home was spent on the bed playing on his iPad. I made dinner but that was made standing in place.

Maybe now that I told her we were not home, maybe they will shut the hell up. The next time it happens I am going to figure out a way to get a bass thump out of my speakers with no actually noise and face them against the wall!

Leave a Reply

