Kitchen hacks!


When I cook potatoes in oil I always end up using a ton of oil.  It takes forever and then I am left with an unhealthy side.  I realized that I could cut the potatoes up into the size and shape I want, toss  them in a covered bowl or dish with a lid and toss them in the oil first.  I then add my salt and seasoning spread the potatoes or other root veggies onto a baking sheet and bake them at 350 for about 25 minutes, depending upon how thick the pieces are.  This uses less oil, cooks more evenly and seasons better.  If you want them crispier, be sure to rotate the vegetable as they cook.  The sides touching the pan are the ones that get the crispiest.

3 thoughts on “Kitchen hacks!

  1. Hello ChaCha! I just recently learned that potatoes can be really yummy baked without any oil at all. They aren’t crispy, but they are yummier in some ways, and definitely healthier. Simply add broth (and optional herbs, onion, garlic, etc.) instead of oil to the baking pan. Use enough broth to barely cover the potatoes. At 350, they should cook for about an hour, stirring halfway through cooking time.

Leave a Reply

